Translator’s Afterword

To my fellow denizens of Nazarick,

We have come to the end. Maruyama ended the webnovel to focus on writing the books, and with what we got from him, I’m not complaining. The books are amazing, and us weebs are lucky to have them. But, it does sadly mean that our time together has come to a close.

It has been a wonderful time translating these stories for such a strong and supportive community. Not once has my poor grammar and lack of editing been criticised. Instead, everyone has been kindly pointing out my mistakes and helping me to correct them. And when I am tired from translating for several hours straight, your words of encouragement inspire me to carry on.

I started this project initially because I loved Overlord, and because I wanted to improve my Japanese, which I started studying a year earlier. So on October 16th 2015, a few days before my final exams, I made the first blog post on this site. I was 14 then, and 19 now.

These translations have been a huge part of my life, and is the largest long-term project I have ever worked on. And now that it is completed, I feel a huge sense of accomplishment, as well as a tinge of sadness that this is now over.

As of right now, I may work on translating the 2nd Databook, but that will only be from next year onwards. After that, I intend on taking a long break from translations.

So to my fellow denizens of Nazarick, both new and old, thank you.

Long Live Ainz Ooal Gown!

Sincerely,

Frostfire10, the Unicorn Translator of Ashurbanipal

22 thoughts on “Translator’s Afterword

    1. Thank you so much for all the work, and amazing as always, hope everything goes well with your endeavors thank you for all the hard work and let’s keep on going

      Like

  1. Thanks for all the effort, and good job.
    Maybe soon a new translation project. Not through this one yet, but I’ll get there.
    So you have my sincere regards, and those of the other readers. \o

    Like

  2. Thank you very much for your hard work translating Overlord’s Web Novel. Since you started I have followed your translations quite often, your contribution benefits enormously all the international Overlord communities around the world. I will be waiting for your translation of the second anime databook, I wish you all the best and success in your future projects.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I only discovered your site a few months ago, and I will be forever grateful to you and the time you spent translating the webnovel. good luck in your future projects, not only translations, but everything you try to do.
      Sorry for my bad english.

      Like

  3. Thank you so much for this, it has been a ride to read what ideas Maruyama had original for Overlord and there was some very fun info to pick from these translations.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Waoo didn’t know I was same age as you XD. And the story was really fun to read, thanks a lot. Btw if I may ask what do you mean by 2nd Databook.?

    Like

  5. Thanks for all the exceptional work. I have been reading your hard work for years and would check every month for a new chapter. Best of wishes.

    Like

  6. Thanks for the translations! It has been a good ride! Hope you are staying safe during these perilous times! Also, hope NS is treating you well, and all the best for your future endeavours! Back to school soon for you i assume!

    Like

  7. thanks so much to your work… i love it…
    you put your soul in this work… i admire your constancy
    i already finish to read light novels and i want to start to read the web novel…
    and one petition
    can i used your work to translated to spanish? im reading on english but i speak spanish

    best regards and…
    in your words… Long Live Nazarick! Long Live Ainz Ooal Gown!

    Like

Leave a comment